Tuition and Fees
McDowell Technical Community College receives financial support from local, state and federal sources, allowing educational opportunities at a minimum cost. Tuition fees are set by the State Board of Community Colleges and are subject to change without notice. Cost of textbooks and supplies are additional expenses which vary according to the program of study. The payment of tuition and all required fees must be made at the time of registration unless deferred payment arrangements have been made with the Business Office.
*Students are not officially registered until tuition payment and fees have been received in the Business Office or deferred by Financial Aid or a Payment Plan has been set up through the MTCC website.
**The following information applies to students enrolled in curriculum programs (technical, vocational, college transfer and general education). For information on Continuing Education fees, see the appropriate section of this catalog.
$76.00 per credit hour, up to a maximum tuition charge
of $1,216.00 per semester.
[16 or more credit hours=$1,216.00)
Any student whose legal residence is outside the State of North Carolina, or, in the case of students who are boarding or living with relatives in the community, whose parents or guardians are living outside the State, shall pay tuition fees as follows: $268.00 per semester credit hour, up to 16 credit hours; maximum tuition charge of $4,288.00 per semester.
Past Due Accounts
Students may not register for a semester, receive transcripts or participate in graduation until deferred or past due charges are paid in the Business Office.
Residency Status For Tuition Purposes
Under North Carolina law, persons must qualify as state residents for a tuition rate lower than that for non-residents.
Residency Determination Service
In 2013 the North Carolina General Assembly (SB 402) instructed the educational entities in North Carolina to work collaboratively to create a centralized process for determining residency for the purpose of tuition and administration of state financial aid. These entities included the University of North Carolina General Administration (UNCGA), the North Carolina Community College System (NCCCS), the North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities (NCICU), and the North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority (NCSEAA).
As a result of the legislative directive, College Foundation, Inc. (CFI) was selected to develop and administer the statewide Residency Determination Service.
MTCC implemented the Residency Determination Service (RDS) on February 20, 2017. All individuals applying to MTCC after March 20, 2017, will be required to complete the online residency determination prior to applying to the college. It is recommended that applicants complete the residency determination well in advance of the semester they wish to start. Upon completion of the residency determination, students will be issued a Residency Certification Number (RCN) which will be utilized at all colleges in NC.
MTCC will continue to work with students who have business sponsorships, are using military benefits or other exceptions allowed by the state. All other residency determinations will be made by CFI and not MTCC.
The Residency Determination Service will provide separate processes to reach a residency classification. Most students will only be required to complete the Initial Consideration process. The Reconsideration and Appeal processes are for those students who experience a change in circumstances (Reconsideration) or who have not had a change in status and believe their residency classification is incorrect (appeal).
All students, parents, faculty, staff, and constituents of the North Carolina Community College System should refer to the Residency website at www.ncresidency.org for more current details regarding the North Carolina Residency Determination Service, processes and required residency guidelines.
College tuition exemptions are as follows:
• Current high school students taking courses at community colleges.
• Some students enrolled in the BLET training program .
• Any person who is the survivor of a law enforcement officer, firefighter, volunteer firefighter, or rescue squad worker killed as a direct result of traumatic injury sustained in the line of duty may be eligible for a tuition waiver.
• Any spouse or children (ages 17 to 22) of law enforcement officers, firefighters, volunteer firefighters, or rescue squad workers who are permanently and totally disabled as a result of a traumatic injury sustained in the line of duty may be eligible for waiver of tuition.
Late Registration Fee
Currently enrolled students who do not pay tuition and fees on or before the day of registration will be assessed a $5.00 late charge. New students or former students (students who were not enrolled during the past academic year) who register during the prescribed registration period will not be assessed a late registration fee.
All curriculum students are required to pay the Student Government Activity Fee as follows:
$1.00 per credit hour (maximum of $16.00 per semester)
These fees are not refundable except when approved by the Vice President for Finance and Administration according to Business Office policy.
Student Insurance Fee
In order that every student may be covered by insurance in case of an accident, institutional policy requires that each student enroll in the accident insurance program at registration. The established fee is $1.30 per semester. This fee is not refundable.
Students enrolled in Practical Nursing Education, Associate Degree Nursing, Nurse Aide, Teacher Associate, Cosmetology, Nail Technology, Health Information Technology, Surgical Technology, Phlebotomy and Early Childhood Associate are required to purchase professional liability insurance coverage. The cost of liability insurance is $14.50 per year.
In order to offset the cost of copies, toner, state-of-the-art computer labs, and other technology made available to students, a fee of $1.50 per credit hour, up to a maximum of $24.00 per semester, is charged to each student at the time of registration. This fee is not refundable.
All curriculum students are required to purchase a picture identification badge to be on his/her person at all times while on the campus grounds for a fee of $5.00 for the academic year.
All curriculum students are required to purchase a parking pass to be placed in his/her vehicle at all times while on the campus grounds for a fee of $5 per semester. All occupational extension students taking a semester-long course are required to purchase a pass to be placed in his/her vehicle at all times while on the campus grounds for a fee of $5 per semester. Other short-term students taking classes will be identified with parking passes given at the time of registration.
Fees For Special Purposes
Graduation expenses for diploma, caps and gowns are payable at the beginning of the semester in which the student expects to graduate. These costs can be obtained from the Student Services Office.
Educational Testing Fee
Students enrolled in the Practical Nursing Education and Associate Degree Nursing Programs are charged an educational testing fee each semester. There are testing fees for PNE and for ADN students which will be provided at student orientation.
Transcript Copy Fee
Students should go to Student Services to request a transcript. A fee of $3.00 is charged for copies of official transcripts.
Some curriculums require students to purchase additional supplies, equipment and/or uniforms. Students should contact the instructor/advisor in the curriculum they plan to enter.
Students are required to purchase the necessary textbooks for courses. Copying of textbooks is not allowed and is a violation of copyright laws in most cases. The average cost ranges from approximately $500 to $800 per semester, depending on the student’s chosen curriculum. Workbooks and certain text materials which are expendable items may be required by some instructors.
Continuing Education Fire and Rescue College Fee
Students attending the McDowell Fire and Rescue College will be charged a fee of $10.00.
Returned Check Fee
A $25.00 service charge is assessed for each returned check.
Tuition refunds are not automatic; it is the student’s responsibility to file a request. Tuition refunds for students shall not be made unless the student is, in the judgment of the institution, compelled to withdraw for unavoidable reasons. A 100% tuition refund can be made to a student who withdraws by registration day. A 75% tuition refund can be made to a student who withdraws before the 10% point in the semester. An official withdrawal must be made by completing the “Add/Drop/Withdrawal” form. An official request for a refund must be made by completing the “Request for Refund” form. Both of these forms should be submitted together to the Student Services Office for processing. Tuition refunds will not be considered after the 10% point in the semester. There is no refund made on activity fees or insurance unless the class is cancelled. The “Request for Tuition Refund” and “Add/Drop Withdrawal” forms may be obtained in the Student Services Office.
Students will receive a copy of the textbook refund policy when textbooks are published in the College Bookstore. Books must be returned within ten days of registration for consideration of refund. All refunds are subject to the terms and conditions stated on the textbook refund policy.