Defensive Driving

 
 
Have you received a citation?  The following courses have been approved by numerous judicial districts to be offered for a reduction in charges.  If you have received a citation or just want to improve driving awareness, we offer convenient dates and times to attend.  If you have questions contact (828) 652-0662.  You can register on-line for these courses. 
 
All classes are held on the main campus of McDowell Technical Community College in the William Harold Smith Building, unless otherwise noted on the schedule of classes below. 
 
Defensive Driving Course-4
 
Participants will acquire the basic knowledge and techniques to recognize potential hazards and avoid collisions and violation. The course will motivate them to change their behind- the-wheel behaviors and attitudes. Students will learn coping techniques for dealing with speeding, distracted driving, impaired driving, and hazardous traffic conditions and more. The result will be a more responsible driver who understands best practices to prevent injury and death while driving a motor vehicle.
 
DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Wednesday November 28, 2018 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday December 5, 2018 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday December 8, 2018 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday January 9, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday January 30, 2019 5:30 pm -9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday February 27, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday March 16, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm Law Enf. Trng. Bldg. Room 104
Wednesday March 27, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday April 10, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday April 24, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday May 1, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday May 18, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday May 29, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday June 15, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday June 26, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
 
 
 
Defensive Driving Course-8
 
Participants will acquire the knowledge and techniques to recognize potential hazards and avoid collisions and violations and why choosing safe, responsible and lawful driving behaviors and habits make personal and financial sense. They will understand that the right attitude can prevent collisions and poor-decision making as well as how to drive defensively in unpredictable conditions.
 
DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Saturday December 8, 2018 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday January 19, 2019 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday February 16, 2019 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday March 16, 2019 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Law Enf. Trng. Bldg. Room 109
Saturday April 13, 2019 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday May 18, 2019 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday June 15, 2018 8:00 am - 5:00 pm WHS Building Room 110
 
 
 
Alive at 25
 

Inexperience, coupled with risk-taking behavior, means a heightened crash risk for teens. While driver education and graduated driving licensing systems are effective, teens need additional training and guidance to change risky behaviors and improve decision-making skills.

 

Alive at 25® is a highly interactive program that teaches young adults how to make safe, respectful and legal driving decisions. Designed for drivers under age 25, the program complements national driver education programs, which focus on laws and vehicle handling. It teaches young drivers how to take control of situations by taking personal responsibility for their own actions, attitudes and driving behaviors.

 

DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Wednesday December 12, 2018 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday January 16, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday January 26, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday February 6, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday February 23, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday March 6, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday March 23, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday April 3, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday April 27, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday May 4, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday May 15, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday June 5, 2019 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday June 22, 2019 9:00 am - 1:00 pm WHS Building Room 111
 
 
 
 
Video Courtesy of National Safety Council
 
 
McDowell Technical Community College is authorized by the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina to offer these Defensive Driving Courses.
 
 
Register Now