Defensive Driving

 
 
Have you received a citation?  The following courses have been approved by numerous judicial districts to be offered for a reduction in charges.  If you have received a citation or just want to improve driving awareness, we offer convenient dates and times to attend.  If you have questions contact (828) 652-0662.  You can register on-line for these courses. 
 
All classes are held on the main campus of McDowell Technical Community College in the William Harold Smith Building, unless otherwise noted on the schedule of classes below. 
 
Defensive Driving Course-4
 
Participants will acquire the basic knowledge and techniques to recognize potential hazards and avoid collisions and violation. The course will motivate them to change their behind- the-wheel behaviors and attitudes. Students will learn coping techniques for dealing with speeding, distracted driving, impaired driving, and hazardous traffic conditions and more. The result will be a more responsible driver who understands best practices to prevent injury and death while driving a motor vehicle.
 
DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Saturday  April 24, 2021 CLOSED-FULL WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  April 28, 2021 5:30pm - 9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  May 5, 2021 5:30pm - 9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday  May 22, 2021 9:00am -1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  May 26, 2021 5:30pm - 9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday June 9, 2021 5:30pm - 9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday June 19, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday June 23, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday July 14, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday July 31, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday August 4, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday August 11, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday August 21, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday September 8, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday September 18, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday September 29, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday October 13, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday October 16, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday October 27, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday November 10, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday November 13, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday November 17, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday December 1, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday December 11, 2021 9:00am-1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  December 15, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
 
 
 
Defensive Driving Course-8
 
Participants will acquire the knowledge and techniques to recognize potential hazards and avoid collisions and violations and why choosing safe, responsible and lawful driving behaviors and habits make personal and financial sense. They will understand that the right attitude can prevent collisions and poor-decision making as well as how to drive defensively in unpredictable conditions.
 
DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Saturday April 24, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday May 22, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday June 26, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday July 24, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday August 28, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday September 25, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday October 23, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday November 20, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
Saturday December 11, 2021 8:00am - 5:00pm WHS Building Room 110
 
 
 
Alive at 25
 

Inexperience, coupled with risk-taking behavior, means a heightened crash risk for teens. While driver education and graduated driving licensing systems are effective, teens need additional training and guidance to change risky behaviors and improve decision-making skills.

 

Alive at 25® is a highly interactive program that teaches young adults how to make safe, respectful and legal driving decisions. Designed for drivers under age 25, the program complements national driver education programs, which focus on laws and vehicle handling. It teaches young drivers how to take control of situations by taking personal responsibility for their own actions, attitudes and driving behaviors.

 

DAY DATE TIME LOCATION
Saturday April 17, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm CLOSED-FULL
Saturday May 1, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday May 19, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday June 12, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday June 16, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday July 17, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  July 21, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday August 7, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday August 25, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday September 4, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday September 22, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday October 2, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday October 20, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  November 10, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday  November 13, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Saturday  December 4, 2021 9:00am - 1:00pm WHS Building Room 111
Wednesday  December 8, 2021 5:30pm-9:30pm WHS Building Room 111
 
 
 
 
Video Courtesy of National Safety Council
 
 
McDowell Technical Community College is authorized by the Safety and Health Council of North Carolina to offer these Defensive Driving Courses.
 
 
Register Now