About Us » History



1964: Established as the Marion-McDowell Industrial Education Center in downtown Marion. Satellite of Asheville-Buncombe Technical Institute.

1967: In September, became an independent unit of the Department of Community Colleges with a local board of trustees.

1971: Official charter as McDowell Technical Institute, an independent institution.



Since the beginning: Continuing Education, Curriculum

1988: Small Business Center established to offer educational opportunities and financial assistance to small businesses in the county.

1997: Comprehensive Articulation Agreements established by the Community College System and the State University System allowing seamless transfer of designated classes between the institutions.


Name Changes:

First Name: Marion-McDowell Industrial Education Center, 1964, by NC Dept. of Community Colleges and Asheville-Buncombe Technical Institute.

Second Name: McDowell Technical Institute, 1971, by the NC General Assembly.

Third Name: McDowell Technical College, 1979, by the NC General Assembly.

Fourth/Current Name: McDowell Technical Community College, 1988, by McDowell Technical College. New name more accurately reflects the comprehensive educational opportunities available the citizens of McDowell County.


Presidential History

John Price: First President (initial date unknown, but we assume 1967) to 1984.

Dr. Robert Boggs: Second President, 1984 to 1999.

Dr. H. Edwin Beam: Interim President, approximately 8 months, 1999.

Dr. Virginia R. Mitchell: Third President, January, 2000 to December, 2003.

Dr. Bryan W. Wilson: Fourth President, January, 2004 to July, 2016.

Dr. John Gossett: Fifth President, August, 2016 to present.


Building History

1964: Building on the corner of State Street and South Garden.

1970: First buildings on new/current 31 acre campus at I-40 and 226.

1975: Added 39, 322 square feet to existing campus. Auto Mechanics Building, 500-seat Amphitheater (now courtyard), Building 11 (Auditorium, classrooms, Learning Resource Center, Student Commons area and administrative offices).

1987: Added 32,000 square feet. Industrial Skills Center (Building 14). Class/lab facility for skills training in technical and vocational programs. Also, a Day Care/Classroom Building added 11,200 sq. ft. of space and classrooms and offices for Continuing Education, a small auditorium and daycare for children of MTCC students.

1988: MTCC Downtown Center was established at the original site of Marion-McDowell Industrial Education Center to offer Continuing Education classes.

1997: The Downtown Center moved to 35 South Main Street in Marion to co-locate with the Accelerated Learning Center of McDowell County Schools and McDowell County JobLink Career Center. In addition, a new 19,950 sq. ft. building opened on the main campus to house various classrooms. In the administration building, the library was renovated and a 1000 foot addition was made to the college bookstore.

2008: The W. Harold Smith Building was completed and named for Harold Smith, a local businessman who left his estate to further educational opportunities for young adults from McDowell County. A trust established in Mr. Smith’s name donated more than $100,000 toward the furnishing of this building.

2009: The Ford Miller Employment and Training Center opened on Baldwin Avenue in September, 2009 to house classrooms and offices for MTCC, JobLink Career Center, partner agencies and the Employment Security Office (now NC Works). This facility was named for local businessman Ford Miller who donated a vacant building and land to the college to create this facility. His give was the largest private donation in the college’s history.

2014: The Universal Advanced Manufacturing Center opened in a portion of the former Universal Furniture plant that had been purchased by the McDowell County Commissioners. The building houses new and enlarged classrooms and shop areas for Machining, Electrical/Electronics, Welding, Industry Training and related programs.



(2015): Walking Trail opened with donation of land from Marion City Council, agreements with the McDowell County Commissioners and funding from the Kate B. Reynolds Foundation.